Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University
Pusa, Samastipur – 848 125, Bihar, India


RPCAU- Organisation, Functions & Duties


The University is governed by Board of Management comprising 19 members and is headed by the Vice-Chancellor. The Vice-Chancellor is supported by University Officers viz., Registrar, Comptroller, Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, Dean, College of Agriculture Engineering, Dean, College of Community Science, Dean, College of Fisheries, Dean, College of Horticulture & Forestry, Dean, College of Basic Sciences & Humanities, Director of Education, Director of Research, Director of Extension, Director of Student Welfare, Comptroller, Estate Officer and the University Librarian in University management. The academic affairs of the University are governed by the Academic Council led by the Vice-Chancellor and respective Faculty Boards. The Research and Extension services are guided by the Research and Extension Council.  The Registrar has the responsibility of university administration. The Deans of Faculties/Colleges are responsible for the organization and work of education in the concerned faculty. The Director Education looks after all educational programmes, The Registrar looks after academics, exams, evaluation and issue of provisional degree certificates. The Director of Research coordinates the planning and execution of research by the University. The Director of Extension is responsible for formulating and functioning of university extension services. The Director of Student Welfare looks after the student welfare measures. The Estate Officer is responsible for maintenance of University buildings. The Officer-in-Charge, External Examination and Evaluation Cell looks after conducting of exams, evaluation of answer books. The Comptroller looks after university budget and financial matters. The University Librarian maintains all the campus libraries and organizes their services. The academic and administrative matters of the constituent colleges are looked after by the respective Deans of the Colleges whereas the Associate Directors of Research have the responsibility of planning and implementing the research programme of work in their concerned zone. RPCAU has Under Graduate and Post Graduate & Ph.D. programmes of study in Agriculture, Agricultural Engineering, Basic Sciences & Humanities, Fisheries, Horticulture and Community Science; His Excellency the President of India is the Visitor and Dr. P.K. Mishra is the Chancellor of the University. Vice-Chancellor is the Academic Head and Principal Executive Officer of the University. The University is governed by the following authorities.

  • Board of Management
  • Academic Council and the Faculty Boards
  • Research and Extension Education Council
  • Finance Committee


Skip to content